Crazy Threads...

H

Hukshawn

Forum Guest
Register Today
hello all. Im new here. i come here in search of knowledge and solutions.
i am a beginner/intermediate. i have a reasonably solid handle on the lathe, but still have years to go before i call myself anything close to an expert.

My issue...

i am trying to thread a piece. it is not going well. i cannot seem to get a consistent cut resulting in cutting in between threads.

i believe i have my machine set up properly. i am trying to cut an 18 thread, the quick change gear box and levers are all set according to the label plate on the lathe. it also has a diagram of the gear setup on the side, i counted the teeth to ensure it hasnt been tampered with previously. all seems well, mild slack in the gears, but nothing serious.
im also following the appropriate instructions with the thread dial indicator and engaging the half nut when required. i have my compound set to 61, which would make the tool 29 degrees to my work piece and have my 60 deg cutting tool set in my qctp perfectly at 90 deg set with the thread ruler tool thingy (ya, i cant remember the name of it). So, all seems to be well as far as the settings.. but the threads are still not consistent. in fact, theyre a mess...
ive retried a few times, flattening the area, and trying again. the first few times, the threads look like they were stepped down away from the tool. as if the angle was too sharp. other times, the tool would just cut out the previous thread. ive included a picture of my current mess and some set up photos

some history.... when i purchased the lathe, i disassembled the table, cross slide, compound, apron, tail stock... everything except the gear box and the head stock. cleaned all the chips out, tightened ways, and keys and made it all nice, solid, clean, and oiled. i also took apart the thread dial indicator... im wondering if this is where my problem is.