Craftsman Commercial 12" Rebuild

Nitmare67

Registered
Registered
Hi everyone I'm new here but I've gained alot of knowledge reading nonstop. I'm rebuilding my first lathe. Its a Craftsman commercial 12" with the matching cabinet and under drive, quick change gear box. It was all given to me by a friend of mine that owns a machine shop. It sat for 15 years in his garage after he trained his son on it. I'm an electrical engineer by day and aspiring machinist by night haha. I will try to post up some pics soon. So far I have diassembled and derusted everything and began painting. Replaced the Timken spindle bearings with new C3 fit Timkens. For motor controls I'm using an Allen-Bradley Plus 40 Vector drive... 115vac input and 240 3 phase out to a 1hp Allen-Bradley vector drive specific motor...... honestly its a 1500 dollar motor and vfd package in a 500 dollar lathe but I get all of the parts free though my work because we have so much in our surplus from shutting down old plants and upgrading machines. I was able to get a brand new 1hp motor and appropriate 1.5hp VFD.

I'm in the process of restoring everything right now including paint because it was all in bad shape. Im finishing up painting everything so far which as came out very nice.

A few things I would like to find.

Does anyone make brass gibs for these machines?

What about tumbler gear upgrades? The forward tumbler gear is worn and I would like to purchase some steel gears instead of the alloy OEM ones.

Thanks guys

Last edited:
Will check that out. I have been looking at Boston gears on Motion industries for gears I could modify to make fit. You're probably right with them being louder I just thought if I'm going to buy new ones why not buy better. Maybe a good set of oem ones would do the trick. I will call Clausing later today but I doubt there open until next year.

Thank for the help man!

Last edited by a moderator: