Counterfeits, Fakes And Copies....? Tools And Gages

EmilioG

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Has anyone ever bought a fake when they thought they were buying the genuine article?
I've seen some good Mitutoyo caliper copies that can fool a lot of people.
I've never bought a fake anything, but I'm curious to hear if anyone has or knows of
fake Interapids, Starrett, Mitutoyo etc... The Chinese can copy anything.

And how do you spot them? I try to buy from reputable dealers mostly. This is not meant to
embarrass anyone or say your foolish. We've all been duped by something. Sometimes we spotted them in time. :)

Great topic! I work in the electronics industry and supply chain integrity is one HUGE issue. There was a video sent around from our purchasing department of people removing parts from printed circuit boards using torches on the side walk, they would then be clean, straightened, remarked and sold as new.

Has anyone ever bought a fake when they thought they were buying the genuine article?
I'm not sure I could tell, unless the 'fit and finish' was way far off on the initial inspection.

I've never bought a fake anything
Are you sure? How do you know?

-brino

I bought a Mitutoyo indicator that isn't of very nice finish. Not near as nice as people act like so it may be a fake. It seems to work but not that pretty.

If you find a deal that is too good note the model number then got to the Mitutoyo website and compare with same model. Mitutoyo uses an LR44 battery not a SR44 batteries. Also Mitutoyo does not ship NEW gauges with batteries installed. Also look at the digits. The the least significant digit is half size instead of full size on most fakes. Also the “in” indicator is usually on the wrong side of the display on a fake.

The Chinese do not copy vintage tools. And I buy from reputable dealers.
I can honestly say that I don't have any fakes, just some poorly made Browne and Sharpe tools. :)