Could Someone Please Tell Me What This Lathe Is

Vince_O

Active User
Registered
http://www.mearesauctions.com/auction/200406/equipment-tool-auction/

Guys as some of you know Im new at metal working. I have a small Atlas 6 in lathe and Im finding out I will grow out of this fast.

The lathe in this auction Ive seen the name on the vids of tubcalcain, that about it. I was told to keep my eyes out for something larger like a 10 inch, is this somethiong much bigger than my small atlas?

That's a Hardinge precision toolroom lathe. Not sure what model though. They were king of the hill in precision lathes, designed for ultra precision threading and small fixtures. Since it has a tailstock and no turret, it's not considered a 2nd operation lathe. This one looks to be a 9" swing with probably 24" between centers. This would be very limited for the kind of work I think you do. Typically they only hold collets and have no mechanism for a spin-on or lug-type chuck. If you can get it cheap and if it's in good shape, it has good flip value.

It's basically the early version of this (and I would love to have one like this). New ones like this are running between 30 and 50 grand depending on how outfitted.

Ray

http://www.mearesauctions.com/auction/200406/equipment-tool-auction/

Guys as some of you know Im new at metal working. I have a small Atlas 6 in lathe and Im finding out I will grow out of this fast.

The lathe in this auction Ive seen the name on the vids of tubcalcain, that about it. I was told to keep my eyes out for something larger like a 10 inch, is this somethiong much bigger than my small atlas?

Quick correction... It's probably 18" between centers.

Monarch was the other lathe in it's class and many of those were 22".