1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. PLEASE: Read the FORUM RULES BEFORE registering!

Dismiss Notice

Coolant and rust

Discussion in 'A BEGINNER'S FORUM (Learn How To Machine Here!)' started by rightway1974, Apr 16, 2017.

1. rightway1974

rightway1974 United States Active Member Active Member

City:
    Bishop
    State:
    Georgia

-Return to Top-

i have not been using coolant on my lathe because I am worried about rust. My shop is not climate controlled and humidity is always high in GA. Is there a way to run coolant without rusting becoming a problem in my situation?

2. cathead

cathead Active User Active Member

City:
    Bemidji
    State:
    Minnesota

-Return to Top-

Use oil for coolant possibly?

3. terrywerm

terrywerm New Member Liaison Staff Member H-M Supporter-Premium

City:
    Jordan
    State:
    Minnesota

-Return to Top-

I used to work in a shop that had a 15" Monarch lathe, which was a little piece of heaven, I might add. It had a built in coolant system and we just ran cutting oil in it. Never got rancid and kept everything oiled up nice, too.

It wasn't the ideal coolant for aluminum or anything like that, so we'd just leave the coolant pump shut off when working with non-ferrous materials.

brino, scwhite, Rustrp and 3 others like this.
  4. 12bolts

12bolts Global Moderator Staff Member Active Member

City:
    Hinchinbrook

-Return to Top-

Depending on the work you are doing it may or may not be necessary. Most soluble oils for flood coolant incorporate rust inhibitors. But for a lot of hobby use direct application of cutting fluids is also effective and appropriate.

Cheers Phil

Rustrp likes this.
  5. rightway1974

City:
    Bishop
    State:
    Georgia

-Return to Top-

I have been using direct application even though my lathe has a coolant tank and pump. I've been using tap magic on ferrous metals but it smokes like a freight train.