Contour Milling

Alas I am a beginner...:abnornal:
I tried looking up West Virginia Tracer and found tracer bullets! I wish I knew what DTI meant.

I do have a CAD program but even with that cutting a profile seems like a tedious task. The curves are not simple arcs but splines, like the french curve templates used in ancient manual drafting.
I agree that stacking and shaping the plates would be the way to go.

As an experiment I made a touch probe some time ago, and might try attaching this to my 3D printer to gather coordinates. My Rong Fu has too much backlash with its non ball screw table, while there is almost none with the printer.

Thanks for help!
-Jay-

West Virginia Tracer is a name given to a process using a “Dial Test Indicator“ following a pattern to move the Y axis of the mill while the X axis is power feeding very slowly to make a copy of the pattern. The pattern is mounted on the table alongside the work piece with the indicator resting on the profile pre-loaded and set to zero. Usually you would mount your magnetic base with indicator on the column. You visually have to watch the indicator and move the Y axis to keep it “zeroed “. HTH

OTmachine, that's neat but must take a steady practiced hand, thanks!
-Jay-

Unfortunately, spline (bezier) curves are impossible to replicate on the manual mill. Beziers are parametric equations with precedent and antecedent vectors on top of the three point plot, that movement can only be done by computer or by following a pattern, using a ground form tool cutter, or approximating using the West Virginia tracer, stepwise movement, etc. Mathematical curves based on rotary parametrics are possible on special universally synchronized machines like the K&T 2D and piece curves can be strung together for complex shapes, but that is a super specialized example.