Considering Buying A Bridgeport Mill

zboss86

Registered
Registered
I'm new to machining.. Just bought a used lathe grizzly 13x40 lathe a couple months back and I'm happy with it it. I just do a little fab work and like to tinker on hot rods, nothing serious...

Just saw a Series 2 Bridgeport Mill for sale locally. The guy said he's known the machine for the last 10 years or so. It was in a factory that got closed down and he bought it at the equipment sale. It's got two power feeds and a 9x42or48" table with some tooling and vice. He said there is some slop in the first 2" inches or so due to the lead screw. He's asking $2K for it.

He said the ways are in good shape. Is the lead screw something that can be redone or replaced to tightened up the machine?

I'll probably pass on it just b/c I still need to do some studying on the types of mills. I don't even know the difference between a series 1,2, or J head... Plus, I'd have to set it aside until I got a phase converter set up.

Last edited:
Don't let the 3phase put you off. A VFD is cheap and pretty simple to set up and install, you will not have much trouble finding an example you can clone.

Sure, buy it. Nobody here is going to recommend letting a piece of iron get away! There are many, "should I buy this machine" threads on this forum. All good comments.
Please post pictures, you'll get more responses. Even from a few photos, people here will be able to tell you quite a bit about the machine.
The machine is not going to be perfect - don't let that scare you. One aspect of this hobby that many enjoy (I enjoy it) is to sort out the issues with a machine, learn about it and end up with a very capable tool, that I would not otherwise be able to afford.

For that price it won't last long. Don't wait, go look at it and if the ways are good grab it.