1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. PLEASE: Read the FORUM RULES BEFORE registering!

Dismiss Notice
  1. KevinMaiorka

KevinMaiorka United States Steel Registered Member

City:
    Lockhart
    State:
    Texas

-Return to Top-

So I have been machining now for 10 1/2 years with a smithy 1220 machine. I have been using the compound for almost all of these years set at a 45° angle when I do general machine work. I have my compound set at this angle due to the fact that if I increase my cut by .010 then the cutter only advances .005 into the workpiece and I only remove .010 from the diameter of the work. Makes it a lot easier for me to do the math in my head and if I only need to remove a thou then only advance it one thou and not have to try for a half thou which is nearly impossible on some compounds. My compound is graduated in .002 divisions so this also makes it a bit more accurate when cutting in my opinion.

What do y'all set your compound angle at? I see most people usually have there's set parallel with the bed ways.

Kevin

Sent from my LGLS991 using Tapatalk

Rx-Cowboy likes this.
  2. brino

brino Active User H-M Supporter-Premium

City:
    Almonte
    State:
    Ontario

-Return to Top-

Mine's probably sitting at 29 degrees from the last time I threaded something.
    I tend to only change it when I hafta.
    -brino

Micke S, Ulma Doctor, TTD and 4 others like this.
  3. JimDawson

JimDawson Global Moderator Staff Member Director

City:
    Sandy
    State:
    Oregon

-Return to Top-

:+1:

Ulma Doctor and KevinMaiorka like this.
  4. Bob Korves

Bob Korves H-M Supporter - Premium Content H-M Supporter-Premium

City:
    Sacramento
    State:
    California

-Return to Top-