Complete Newbie - Bridgeport 2J (Adcock-Shipley) - Wiring Questions

Nick Hacking

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Dear All,

I have recently acquired a milling machine: it's a Bridgeport with a 2J head, made under licence by Adcock and Shipley in the UK. I'd be grateful for any and all information that you might be able to offer.

My first problem is to work out how to wire it up. I think I can trace out the wiring myself but help would be much appreciated.

The serial number is JB34020. The motor is 3-phase, 2-HP, rated for 380 to 420 V.
It has a power feed on the table. With the help of the internet I've managed to identify this as an Align CE-500P. It has a coolant pump. It's also been fitted with a Mitutoyo 2-axis DRO but I'm ignoring that for now as it doesn't interconnect with the electrics (apart from drawing power).

The front control panel contains a number of switches which look fairly straightforward but, for reasons that I haven't yet fathomed, inside the panel are some transformers.

There is a box of electrical gizmos on the right side of the machine which is going to take a lot of figuring out. I've discovered that one of the components is a Crompton CC0910 switching unit, sitting on a CR09/1.6 thermal cut-out. There are two transformers and handful of (?switching relays?) that I have yet to come to grips with.

I'll see if I can post some pictures...Head Plate.jpg Motor Plate.jpg Head Plate.jpg Motor Plate.jpg Name Plate.jpg Align (Bestline) CE-500P.jpg

This is the same, but with annotations:Electrics R Annotated.jpg

A) is the main cable duct that runs forards, to the front control panel
B) is a screened cable that contains four black wires and an earth - it doesn't currently connect to anything (could this be the 3-phase supply?)
C) is the On-Off switch
D) is a transformer
E) is the cable duct that runs to the power feed
F) is the Crompton switching unit and thermal cut-out
G) appears to be a 3-phase circuit breaker