CNC help needed.

Registered
Registered
Folks,
I have a Hardinge ST16 Swiss screw inbound at the moment. I have zero experience with any cnc programming or machines. I am the old Logan lathe guy. Where what and how would you suggest getting started? I have a project I want to dedicate the machine to. I am located in Ohio and willing to get help. LOL email and number as follows. nickmull@yahoo.com 330-390-0021 cell.

Thanks Nick

Nick,

A lot depends on your available electronics and mechanical skills to convert a machine. First you must make some very important decisions such as Metric or Inch ball screws, Servo or stepper motors comes next. Then closely followed by a number of operations to replace a bunch of components that will not allow you to keep your tolerances in range. So if you would like to describe to us you vatrous abilities regarding what you can do we will be glad to help you either do it yourself or find a mentor who can assist you in the actual physical work. The majority of changing a machine over to CNC is very simple bolt on types of operations that require minmal tools and skils to do. The few fine points come when you are adding the DRO section and maintaining your tolerance. If I were you I would defiately look into a package type of kit if that is possible because then you will not be trying to coordinate language while managing position or vice versa. There are a number of very knowledgeable folks here about who will be more than glad to help you out and keep you pointed in the right direction, so give the two questions I asked a bit of thought and see what you decide and we can go from their!!!! Good luck and get ready for some real fun while you do these mads.

Bob