Cleaning ways and metal surfaces/?

Darkbluesky

Registered
Registered
I'm new to machining and just picked up an old colchester bantam. https://imgur.com/gallery/UaPsX

It's in real good shape but as I'm waiting to have my 240 line installed to I can run it I figured I'd give it a once over and clean it up as best I can. Initially I had thoughts of repainting, but I'm new enough I don't trust myself to take apart and get it back together. Combine that with the work of stripping paint I worry I'd stall on the work and take a year to get it back together. I'd rather just use it for now.

Quick question on the ways and metal surfaces. Everything looks relatively clean, but the ways has a little bit of built up grime. I can just feel it with my finger pad when I run over it in some sections. I'd read previously to stay way from ways with abrasives so just wondering if there are proffered ways to get that down to flush?

How about the other metal surfaces? Crossslide and such. This metal has just miniscule pitting, but figured I could clean it up while I've got time.

Got a good lesson how lathes can be dangerous even when they're not moving when the damn thing almost topped over on the lift gate as my driveway has just a slight decline. Now that it's on the ground I'm looking forward to cleaning it up and getting my power run so I can give a go at making some things.

Easy to use solvents are mineral spirits, or gasoline to remove the grime. Just wet a piece of the blue shop towel with the solvent. I then use acetone for final step to remove the other solvent, then apply some way oil.

For some really thick grime, consider diluted Purple Power, many brands, just do not let this sit for long time on painted surfaces. I found this out the hard way.

If the grime is thick, you may need to scrub the solvent with an old toothbrush to remove the grime.