• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • PLEASE: Read the FORUM RULES BEFORE registering!

Cleaning New Pm932..how Far To Go?

Hozzie

H-M Supporter - Premium Content
H-M Supporter-Premium
So I received my PM932 (non-pdf) last week and I moved it into my shop this weekend. I am waiting on my larger base to be welded up (the PM base will sit on it) so I can add leveling feet so while I am waiting I figured I would go ahead and clean up the mill.

I started by simply scraping some of the cosmoline off and using WD-40 to wipe things down. I have read where some people have basically taken it all apart to clean it. I am new to Mills and while I am very handy, completely breaking down my table, etc to clean it is a bit intimidating. Is there any somewhat step by step instructions on doing such a thing? I did a search here and didn't really see anything. The manual shows an exploded parts view, but I was hoping for something a bit more direct.

I read the thread on the PM727 and figure it is similar, but also figured it can't hurt to ask. Worst case, I will just clean up everything I can reach for now and see how it goes, but I also understand that these can be pretty gritty from the factory.

Is it really a must do to tear it down in most people's opinion?

jbolt

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium
I ran mine for a couple of months before I tore it down to do the CNC conversion. Overall it was pretty clean except there was some grit in the head. I would at the very least pull the top off the head at the first oil change and check it out.

wrmiller

Chief Tinkerer
H-M Supporter-Premium
I would suggest you take it as far as you are comfortable with, and try it that way. These things can be a bit intimidating at first. :)