Clamping A Round Part On The Mill Table?

RVJimD

Active User
Registered
image.jpg image.jpg I wanted to check and see if I'm headed down the correct path.

I am about to cut a 1/2" slot across the center of this brake rotor. This is version 2 of the rotor, we decided to make the hub 7/8" instead of 3/4" to allow some more material remaining for the dog ears. Also, on this one I decided to cut the 1/2" slot on the mill now, before I make the O ring groove so that the clamps don't try to crush the groove.

I'm just starting out with the mill so I'm looking for confirmation or tips on better ways to set this up and cut the slot.

The "completed" rotor is the version 1, smaller one.

I think you are doing just fine. If you wanted to fine tune your set-up. Maybe make the straps more flat (not so much an angle) with the part surface. And have the studs as close to the part as possible. And maybe put a piece of aluminum beer can or similar under each strap at the part to prevent marring….Good Luck, Dave.

Last edited:
I have always made the toes level with the work piece not angled. With it angled it grips at the point only. If it's level it applies that force over a wider area which gives better grip. If this were a CNC operation I would be suggesting a lower profile mounting option, but as for manual it should be fine.

Great tips, thanks. I wondered about the angle...

Jim

If you do a lot of them buy some aluminum flat stock the same or taller height and thicker then your vice hard jaws. drill and tap for mounting and install in vice then place a spacer between them and tighten vice, mill 1 or more round pockets in place at correct diameter and depth, remove spacer place parts in pockets tighten vice and mill multiple parts.
Like so
o7sexe.jpg

Guys,

Thanks for the tips, really helps and nice to know I have a community of machinists who are friendly and willing to read my "new guy" posts and offer your experience!

Nels, thank you for the site!