Checking Out A Bridgeport: What To Watch Out For.

Metal

Registered
Registered
Hey folks
I have a benchmaster, which I picked up for a few hundred, and completely refurbed (derusted, new spindle bearings, paint, ect. ect. ect. So this is not anything new to me.

I found a bridgeport (unknown table size so far) J head on craigslist for ~900 that I'll be checking out, apparently it is in "not good" condition, but the person wasn't very specific.

The plan would be to get this into my garage, grease it up and slowly disassemble/refurb the parts until probably late spring/early fall. From what I can tell I could be walking into a total frankenstein monster as bridgeports are mostly cross compatible between types(?)

Now is there anything I should be looking out for specifically for in bridgeports? I'll check the ways and backlash, but I'm not sure how to identify a worn out way if it is overall in good condition and not scratched to hell.

Last edited:
Disclaimer: I have never owned, used, or put my hand on a M head Bridgeport... That is a very old machine, and much different than the newer and more common BP models. Various collet types were used in them, none of which were R8, which the later machines used and are the most common ones around today. The M head also has a lesser quill stroke, 3.5" vs. 5" on the later ones. The ram on a M head is round, a less rigid system. The table will be smaller than later models and has less range of motion. Parts will likely be relatively difficult to find. Upside, it is smaller and will fit in tighter spaces.

If you love vintage equipment and the smell of musty iron, and want a restoration project to mess with, go for it. If you just want to get a mill to use in your shop, get something else.

If the machine was in very nice running condition, and the price was lower, and you wanted a project to tinker with, then things might be different.

Do a lot of research before you buy that mill...