Chatter after Pilot Hole

EmilioG

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I'm very new to machining but learning quite a bit quickly from all the great posts and info here.
I've been drilling holes in 1018 steel with a drill press using a hole starting bit or spot/center drill.
Sometimes I get chatter when I start the next size drill up after a shallow pilot hole.
I;m thinking that I may be using the wrong point angle, i.e. 135° drill after a 118° starter hole drill.

Do I need to follow the correct sequence of point angles or is the chatter from something else?
The holes are 1/2" in 3/8" thick 1018 steel. Could it be a speed problem? Not sure of the RPM's
on the last attempt. The drill press is very old with a lot of run out. (I saw this when I reamed a few holes
the other day and the long reamer showed how bad the run out is). The holes don't come out elliptical
but clearly not even close to round).
Thanks. I'll take all the help I can get.

Never used one after the other so I dont know. But in thinking, seems the 135 would start out only cutting on the very out side edge of the pilot till it sits all the way down. When you step up make sure each step is no bigger then the web of the next step.

Think of it like sticking a triangle inside of another triangle. If the same angle the larger triangle will still fit in snug till it bottoms.

If the first triangle is smaller angle the larger one will hit the sides at the top but touch nothing under that edge

If the first is larger angle then the second one will bottom out but have side clearance all the way up. So only the point seats.