Change Gear Question

Jmanb13

Registered
Registered
I've been researching (for several months) a change gear setup for my 1946 Leblond. Due to the obvious lack of old random translation gears for a 70 year old lathe, I am contemplating replacing all of the gears with a newer matching set of stocked boston gears.

The stock setup from leblond is 3 gears for connecting the spindle to the quick change box.

32 tooth -> 120 tooth -> 32 tooth. The oem way to do metric threads was a 120/127 compound gear. in place of the 120 gear. These gears however are a weird 14 pitch gear.

The stock boston gears that have a 127 tooth option are 16 pitch so it is smaller. The issue i'm running into is that the adjustment mechanism for the gears is maxed out with the stock 14 pitch gear, so it would not be able to move any further for the smaller gear.

Would there be any issue running a higher tooth count gear (aka bigger) in place of the 32 tooth gears to make up the distance?

Something like
40 -> 120 -> 40
and
40 -> 120/127 -> 40 for metric threading.

In my limited understanding of gears, it shouldn't make any difference as long as the spindle and quick change gears are exactly the same tooth count.

40 - 120 - 40 is commonly used. It should cause no issues. It will, however invalidate any charts on the lathe if the 40 tooth gear is used with the tooth counts called out in the charts.

Maybe i'm misunderstanding this. Since the driving gear and the quick change gear box gear have the same tooth count, are they not the same gear ratio and would be turning at the same speed regardless of having 10 teeth or 100 teeth. The spindle turns 1 time and the quick change box turns 1 time.

This is what the gears look like (except the 2 small gears are identical on my lathe)

maxresdefault.jpg