centering indicators

This is the gold standard indicator setup for edge finding, centering etc. I have left over from my jig grinding days. I've been using it daily for over 30 years now. I see that the adjustable arm technology has changed somewhat based on the photos above, the the concept hasn't.

indicators001.jpg

Holescreek, would you mind going into detail on how to use this method? Not everyone has a DRO, wiggler, or the electronic devices used for centering. Most everyone has a DTI. This would be a good teaching moment for some of us to learn.

indicators001.jpg

indicators001.jpg

Holescreek, would you mind going into detail on how to use this method? Not everyone has a DRO, wiggler, or the electronic devices used for centering. Most everyone has a DTI. This would be a good teaching moment for some of us to learn.

Can I do that inside someone else's thread?

I guess a mod could split it later.

Picking up an edge.
1) Get the ball of the indicator under the spindle centerline by moving the joints (mine are only tight enough to hold position after adjustment) and tilting the indicator side to side.
2) you know it's on center when the ball appears to stay in position wen you rotate the spindle by hand.
3) turn the spindle by hand so the indicator body is parallel to the edge you want to indicate.
4) adjust the hand wheels so the ball is centered over the edge by eye.
5) pull the indicator back a little bit and lower the Z axis so the ball can touch the edge.
6) without twisting or turning the indicator push it up to the edge so the ball makes contact and the indicator needle moves .01~".015" (my Interrapid has .06" travel)
7) rotate the spindle CW and CCW to find the high point on the edge and set the indicator dial to a reference number of your choosing. You may need to adjust the indicator swivel to the high point contact is made when the front of the ball touches instead of the side of the ball.