Centering A Vw Hub To Drill Lug Bolt Holes

hotrats

andy harwood
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
Complete newbie here.
Project is adapting VW axles to a old Lotus Europa. The hubs need to be turned down to a smaller diameter, the center part of the hub turned down a bit so to fit thru the wheel center opening. and new lug holes drilled.
Questions are:
1 - Would it be better to locktite some threaded rod into the holes for the VW lugs before turning down the diameter, just leave open? Suggestions other than that?
2- What/Where to zero off of for centering? Splines for the axle?
Photo is of hubs. I ended up with a free set, so, the 1st one is sacrificial.
Thanks in advance
Andyh

VW hubs.jpg

1. Just leave them open if you have no further need for them.
2. Indicate on the O.D. of the flange to center the work in the lathe.

3. Remember that you are the engineer, designer, quality control, and quality assurance as well as the machinist. Don't do anything that you are not completely comfortable with while wearing any of those hats, even if they do not quite fit your head. Lives may be at stake...

It would be good if we knew a little about your shop in terms of what kind of equipment you have to work with. Any chance you can get your hands on a splined portion of axle that fits the hubs properly? That is, one that you could cut off short enough to be used as a tooling aid. It would be a great help for what you describe needing to do, provided I understand correctly.

Thanks for the replies.
I used a cut off piece of axle in the chuck to hold the hub, tightened the axle nut to force hub against chuck. Didn't know which spot would be better to zero off of - the outside of the hub flange, or the spline portion.
as far as equipment, lathe is a old Taiwan 9x24, Winchester branded, I think. Mill is a PM 940 w/ dro.
This is a sacrificial parts/learning test for me, I have a experienced machinist to carry the parts to if I get stuck.