cataracts

savarin

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Anyone on here had their cataracts replaced with a new lens?
I will have to do this pretty soon and am a tad nervous to say the least.
I have two choices in Oz, private - mucho dinero or public - free.
On the face of it it looks like a no contest but---
Private, they can use a lens that corrects the vision and also reduce or remove the astigmatism and do it now.
Public, just vision correction, no astigmatism correction and indeterminate waiting list.
Next problem, I am an amateur astronomer and the astigmatism produces large spikes of light on stars and other bright sources. Reducing the spikes would be very nice, removing them would be awesome.
With new lenses that if I remember correctly will only give me back my long vision I will still need glasses.
Oh what to do.
So, can any of you that have had this operation give me the goods and bads?
Thanks, from a vacillating star gazer.

I had cataract surgery about three years ago. The results were the difference between night and day, so to speak. I elected to go with vision correction only as the astigmatism correction lenses were nearly twice the cost. As it was my surgery cost me about $5,000 USD. The downside is I have to carry reading glasses with me everywhere I go. I have heard that you can have a near-sighted lens in one eye and a far-sighted lens in the other. Maybe something to look into.

As with you I was a bit apprehensive about someone messing with my eyes. What if something went wrong? Would I lose my eye sight? Here in the U.S. they do one eye at a time, at least that's how my doctor does it. After having the first eye done I couldn't wait to get the second one done. For me the results were instantaneous. The doctor did a quick vision test before releasing me. I could read a sign across the room with my new to me good eye. The old eye could barely make out that there was a sign on the wall.