BXA tool holder with <5/8" HSS bits.

6literZ

Macguyver
Registered
I recently ordered a lathe, I am now looking for tooling.

Carbide seems nice with the indexable tool holders typically holding the inserts at the specific angle for the type of cut.
(Such as these in a set http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl...IGQAw&tbm=isch&client=safari&ved=0CB4QMygBMAE
)

My question is how do you do the same thing with HSS bits, without using any additional type of holder, especially with anything less than 5/8 HSS. I want to use less than 5/8 for ease of grinding because I'm just learning. It seems like the quick change tool post would be really close to the chuck with any size HSS bit in the tool holder.

Ive read books on lathe tooling, they're just outdated and use the lantern style holder.

You can easily fit smaller bits in those quick change holders. Get yourself a bunch of extra holders so you don't have to readjust when you want to change a bit out. Just pop its dedicated holder on the tool post and press on.

Dave

With quick change holders you are free to use smaller size bits like1/4, 3/8,and 1/2 ect. you just tighten the allen set screws down on top of the tool bit. Most everyone does that. There are a million opinions on HSS and insert tooling. Suggest you use the search function and look up insert tooling and HSS tooling. Make sure you have your favorite beverage and lots of time.:lmao: Regarding the closeness of the tool holder to the chuck...yes that can be troublesome and that is where larger, ie., stiffer tools are helpful as you can angle and stick them out further from the holder. What kind of lathe are you getting? That also enters in to the equation.

Cheers
Darrell

If you own a mill, i suggest making your own toolholders. Make a batch of a dozen or even more. Its REALLY HANDY to have all the tools you'll ever need all set to go.

Karl