Bridgeport Series 1 w/ Millpwr2 programming question

jguitar1

Registered
Registered
Hi guys and gals,

This is my first posted question. I am new to the machinist trade and I am learning to use a Bridgeport Series 1. I have been having tiny victories importing DXF files from Rhino to the Millpwr2 screen, this after attempting to import files made in AutoCAD, which resulted in a series of parallel lines instead of the tool I was trying to make. If anyone has ideas on that I would be interested to hear them. I actually ran the machine with Rhino exported DXF and it sort-of did what I wanted it to, but more attention to the programming is needed.

Is there a way to see on the Millpwr2 the settings that I have applied to a given program step? For example: for steps 1-4 Z depth = .9909 (these are made up numbers) Feed rate = 3.0, etc.

If not - Why?:thinking: Seems like an obvious feature to include in the software. HA! that's one for a Millpwr developer to answer...

Thanks J.

I can't answer your question but I will tell you that the Techs at Acu-Rite are outstanding, knowledgable, and very eager to see that you're pleased with their product.

Give them a call.

I was working with the machine all day yesterday and didn't find any program parameters screen (I guess I would call it...) Is it just me, or would that be a useful feature? Anyway, the work-around I came up with here is just use a pad and pencil.

Thanks for your reply Senna. I've talked to Acu-rite before. I didn't exactly have the experience you described, but they sort-of helped.

J.

Does the manual not describe the procedure you wish to use?

Acu-Rite was superb every time I spoke with anyone there.

I've had them spend over an hour on the phone answering all of my many questions.

My procedure whenever I contact a manufacturer is to fluff them up a bit with laudatory praise of their product.