Bridgeport motor ID

LEEQ

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I got what looked like a mill. Turns out it was a basket case. One of the things I'm up against is identifying the motor so that I can get the right vfd. It has 9 wires, and no data plate. The pairs appear to be 1,7 - 2,8 - 3,9 - 4,5,6. I'm pretty sure it's wye wound. It was wired with a 3/4 to 1&1/2 HP 220v static converter. I need help finding out more precisely what it is though. The motor data plate would rock. Does anyone recognize this motor or have any resources that might help figure it out? Can it be tested to reveal this info?

bport.jpg

I'M NOT AN ELECTRICIAN. I'M NOT AN ELECTRICIAN. I'M NOT AN ELECTRICIAN. I'M NOT AN ELECTRICIAN.

according to my late grandfather's "electrical Engineering Pocket Handbook" (and he was an electrician) your wiring description fits for a "star connected" 3-phase 2-speed motor. The wire pairings you have is for low speed. High speed would be 1 by itself, 2 by itself, 3 by itself and 4/7 5/8 6/9.

My "new" bridgeport-clone motor looks like yours and is also a 2-speed.

A static converter runs the motor at reduced power - akin to kicking the mule every 3rd step instead of every single step. If it ran on a 3/4-1.5hp static converter then it will run on a 1.5hp vfd - and run better, stronger, happier.

And line 1 would be the 1/7, line 2 the 2/8 and line 3 the 3/9.

Hope that helps a little bit.

I'M NOT AN ELECTRICIAN. I'M NOT AN ELECTRICIAN. I'M NOT AN ELECTRICIAN. I'M NOT AN ELECTRICIAN.