• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • PLEASE: Read the FORUM RULES BEFORE registering!

Best way to fit these parts together.

Jmanb13

I have a bar that is ~.55 inches in diameter. I have a hole that is currently drilled out to 3/8 with drill bit.

I want to turn down the bar and or enlarge the hole so that have a tight fit that is accurately centered and will resist radial forces. I assume that I would probably want to use a key to prevent slipping.

What would be the best way to go about doing this?

I do not have access to a mill or press.

Jmanb13

Turn OD, bore ID and key both with a matching keyseat, done deal. Shafts and bores have been keyed together for well over 100 years.

Otherwise crossdrill and pin together, you appear to have no other options.
Would boring or reaming the hole be a better idea in this situation? Keep in mind i'm still new to this, so I don't know when its better to bore vs ream a hole.

coffmajt

H-M Supporter - Premium Content
H-M Supporter-Premium
If you want a true hole then you must bore first, then ream to the diameter you want. Running a reamer through a hole that is not centered or true just gives you a smooth untrue hole == Jack

Wreck™Wreck

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium
Would boring or reaming the hole be a better idea in this situation? Keep in mind i'm still new to this, so I don't know when its better to bore vs ream a hole.
Boring is more accurate then reaming if you have the tools, if not ream away which will get you close enough for general purposes.

chips&more

Active User
If you want the best amount of strength out of the joint/marriage. Then you would want the bar to remain its nominal size and not turn it down at all.

scwhite

Turn OD, bore ID and key both with a matching keyseat, done deal. Shafts and bores have been keyed together for well over 100 years.

As small as those shafts are