1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. PLEASE: Read the FORUM RULES BEFORE registering!

Dismiss Notice

Benchtop Bridgeport - what would you do?

Discussion in 'BRIDGEPORT MACHINES INC. & B'PORT CLONES' started by cederholm, Jan 28, 2015.

1. cederholm

cederholm United States Active User Active Member

City:
    brooklyn
    State:
    New York

-Return to Top-

Hi all,

I am a novice machine hobbyist with a with benchtop Bridgeport mill that I would love to use. My father bought it at an auction and never hooked it up. When he passed I inherited it. The problem is that it doesn't have a cross feed bed. Can they be purchased? Is it worth messing around with this?

My hope is to use it for small projects.

Would love any advice/thoughts. Pictures below.
    ~ Carl

IMG_4980.jpg

IMG_4981.jpg

IMG_4983.jpg

Attached Files:

brino, scwhite and confederatemule like this.
  2. darkzero

darkzero Global Moderator Staff Member H-M Supporter-Premium

City:
    Los Angeles
    State:
    California

-Return to Top-

That's pretty cool. Looks like a drill press to me & not a mill. Never knew those existed.

confederatemule likes this.
  3. Bill C.

Bill C. United States Active User Active Member

City:
    Clarksville
    State:
    Indiana

-Return to Top-

I never seen one either. Looks like a lite duty machine. Maybe a tool room mill.

4. Billh50

Billh50 Active User H-M Supporter-Premium

City:
    New Britain
    State:
    Connecticut

-Return to Top-

Looks like someone took a Bridgeport head and mounted it to a drill press stand. You can get a cross slide table for that just about anywhere that sells tooling. Won't be as sturdy as a real miller but would do for light work.

brino and confederatemule like this.
  5. Bill C.

Bill C. United States Active User Active Member

City:
    Clarksville
    State:
    Indiana

-Return to Top-