Benchtop Bridgeport - what would you do?

cederholm

Active User
Registered
Hi all,

I am a novice machine hobbyist with a with benchtop Bridgeport mill that I would love to use. My father bought it at an auction and never hooked it up. When he passed I inherited it. The problem is that it doesn't have a cross feed bed. Can they be purchased? Is it worth messing around with this?

My hope is to use it for small projects.

Would love any advice/thoughts. Pictures below.
~ Carl

IMG_4980.jpg

IMG_4981.jpg

IMG_4983.jpg

IMG_4980.jpg

IMG_4981.jpg

IMG_4983.jpg

IMG_4980.jpg

IMG_4981.jpg

IMG_4983.jpg

That's pretty cool. Looks like a drill press to me & not a mill. Never knew those existed.

Looks like someone took a Bridgeport head and mounted it to a drill press stand. You can get a cross slide table for that just about anywhere that sells tooling. Won't be as sturdy as a real miller but would do for light work.

Hi all,

I am a novice machine hobbyist with a with benchtop Bridgeport mill that I would love to use. My father bought it at an auction and never hooked it up. When he passed I inherited it. The problem is that it doesn't have a cross feed bed. Can they be purchased? Is it worth messing around with this?

My hope is to use it for small projects.

Would love any advice/thoughts. Pictures below.
~ Carl

IMG_4980.jpg

IMG_4981.jpg

IMG_4983.jpg

Looks like you need a cross feed table to make it a milling machine. If it was mine try a Google search for a manual or more photos. I have never seen one, may have been a special built production WWII era machine.

Be sure to mount it on a heavy duty bench so any vibration will not weaken the table. I did read one advantage is it should be a direct electrical plug in. Apparently newer models are out there.

IMG_4980.jpg

IMG_4981.jpg

IMG_4983.jpg

IMG_4980.jpg

IMG_4981.jpg

IMG_4983.jpg

Last edited: