Balancing

dave enrico

Registered
Registered
im fairly new at machining after 40 year lay off,can anyone tell me if theres an attachment for balancing rotating parts on the lathe, thanks dave

I'm not aware of anything available for a lathe. I would say is would be almost impossible to do any balancing in a lathe because you have to take into account the balance of the the rotating parts in the lathe also.

For a static balance you can use parallel knife edges and just set the part on those and it will rotate to the heavy side down. This works pretty well for some things.

If you have only one part to do, I think I remember a motor rewind shop in the Ontario industrial area, or maybe Pomona, it's been a few years, but many have balancing equipment. Also many automotive machine shops have balancing equipment.

If you are doing a lot of parts, then searching Craigslist for a used Stewart-Warner balancer would be the way I would go. I see them come up for sale occasionally.

You should be able to static balance on the lathe by putting the part between two centers. If you don't have a center drill on the end of the shaft, a tight slip fit cap with a center drilled end could be turned to permit using the centers. For maximum sensitivity, use only enough force to secure the part between the centers and add a drop of light machine oil to each.