[Mill] Automation Technologies Kl-2200 3hp Dc Spindle

maly-miller

Registered
Registered
Did any one try the KL-2200 the 3 HP Spindle that is sold by automation technologies. I was thinking to use it in my build (In the R&D phase)

Does it have a potential and good power to work hard materials like Titanium and hardened steel?

I am kinda new in this and I don't want just to throw $700 for something that I will be throwing later.

My plane is to use it as a belt drive conversion for a ZX45 mill CNC conversion project.

What do you think guys?

Consider you are asking "3 hp from a motor that is 4.11"/110mm diameter and 8"/214mm long. It may be a good motor but the spec, especially at lower rpm may be a tad optimistic? I had almost the identical motor on my PM45m and upgraded . It was a "3 hp" also. More torque is always a good thing and then there is the laws of physics thing...

It is worth noting that some of the new servo motors do pack a punch in a smaller package but you tend to get what you pay for.

As far as working with materials, using the right speeds and feeds you can cut steel and titanium with smaller end mills and shallower cuts. I have cut both with my mini mill years ago.

Bigger machines and motors make it much more fun though!

For reference, here is a 3 hp lincoln extreme duty inverter duty motor also rated at 3 hp:

motor-test-fit2.jpg

motor-tag.jpg

Anyway, good luck with your upgrade.

Last edited:
It may be a good motor but the spec, especially at lower rpm may be a tad optimistic?
I hear you. I also think it is too good to be true specially with the size and weight, and that's why I am asking to see if anyone had on hand experience with. No logic say to pay $700 in junk when u can pay a little more and get a nice motor that will do the job right.