• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • PLEASE: Read the FORUM RULES BEFORE registering!

4

Autocad for free

3
Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!
10

chrisrayburn

Swarf
Registered Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2017
Messages
4
Likes
0
#3
I'm not sure I just downloaded it I would say you could get a newer version I will use it for 3 years and see what happens :)
 

rwm

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2013
Messages
1,053
Likes
1,134
#4
Why Autocad over Fusion?
Robert
 

T Bredehoft

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2014
Messages
2,133
Likes
1,473
#5
I used AutoCad from 1995 to about 2010, when my computer wouldn't run it any more. I'd like to return to it. I have Draft sight, it's OK, but it certainly isn't AutoCad.
 

chrisrayburn

Swarf
Registered Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2017
Messages
4
Likes
0
#6
I know how to use it and I thought other people might like to try it. No other reason than that I don't know anything about Fusion.
its what you get used too I guess.
 

rwm

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2013
Messages
1,053
Likes
1,134
#7
Thanks guys. I am new to Autodesk Fusion 360 but finding it very powerful and intuitive.



R
 

markso125

Iron
Registered Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2017
Messages
22
Likes
16
#8
Since one of the classes I teach is AutoCAD I get asked about this a lot. Yes after 3 years if you still have a valid school email you can upgrade too the newest version, I like to upgrade every year just to keep up to date with changes in the program.
One thing that is not too well known is this applies to all Autodesk products, I currently have Inventor on both my computer at work, and my system at home. But you can get copies of all of their products including Fusion, Revit(used in architectural drafting) 3DS(used in video games and movies) and everything else on their catalog.
Just remember that you need an educational email address, they do check up on this periodically and you don't want your program locked out in the middle of a big project.
 

kvt

Active User
Active Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2014
Messages
1,654
Likes
725
#9
I guess I need to find some online class or something for Fusion 360 or something as I get my ___kicked trying to do things. Give me a T square and drafting board etc. and I will go to town.
 

markso125

Iron
Registered Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2017
Messages
22
Likes
16
#10
That sounds great till you have to write it all into G&M code, that is one of the biggest advantages about using AutoCAD or solidworks, depending on what software suite you have some of them will write your programs for you like Catia will or you can dump your 3d model generated from solidworks or AutoCAD into something like surfcam and have that program write the code for you.
 
6
5 7