Atlas MFC Refurbishment

ogberi

Active User
Registered
Hi All,

Well, I did it. I wasn't happy with some things about my Atlas horizontal mill, so I decided to tear it down and go through it.

I got this machine for free years and years ago. It had some broken parts, some missing parts, and some damaged parts. Being young and ignorant, I got it to a condition where it cut metal.

Fast forward 10 years.

I'm unhappy with the tram of the table to the spindle, the stiffness of movement, the missing parts, etc, etc, etc.

So, I decided to tear this thing down. I'm building a vertical head for it, and I need to use it to machine some parts for that. Now that I know a little more, I'm unhappy with how it was behaving. So.......
View attachment 91909
DSC_0240.JPG

Savor that. It's got ugly handwheels because I was a newbie at foundry work. There's a Mark Of Shame on the table, because I grabbed the wrong handwheel. Backgear is non-existent, it has no locks for the overarm bar, I haven't used the horizontal arbor because I have no cutters, no spacers, and no nut for the arbor! The machine works, but it's sloppy, and if I turn off the radio, I can hear it whisper, "Make me right!"

So, I cleared off my workbench, and started removing parts. I got a stack of ziploc bags and a brand new sharpie!
I removed the LH handwheel, (rough cast) and took off the table.
DSC_0241.JPG
I'm cleaning as I go. There is a missing gib screw, and the lock handle is missing. I think I'll make new leadscrew nuts for this machine. It's worth the cost of an Acme LH tap to do so. The table is in good shape. The ways are not too torn up, but I don't know if there's wear in the middle of the table yet. The gib will get polished on a granite slab with fine grit paper and washed thoroughly before reassembly.
DSC_0242.JPG