Approaches to turning a spool-shaped object (capstan drum)?

I have made thousands of parts in production or one offs similar to what you are trying to do. My go to way is an ID collet. Can you use a 5c collet on your lathe ?
I would chuck part drill and bore 2.06 bore then go to an Id collet. The Id collets are turned in place so you can reload part as many times as needed and maintain concentricy. You can then move the id collet to a mill and drill and tap part there also bore the 1 inch dia bore.
Hardinge makes Id collets but they are real pricy
Rovi also makes good Id collets and they go up to 6 inch dia in 5c collets. I have been making my own Id collets for over 60 years . And I mostly make about 20 blanks at a time. but for one piece you might find a Rovi set up for cheap and you will have it for years. You just replace the heads for different sizes needed.
Rovi has a you tube demo of how to use them if you want to see them working.

Hi All,

I'm thinking about a hobby project for which I want to turn a small capstan drum to fit on a shaft. I worked up a conceptual model (drawing attached) with function but not machinability in mind and have since been trying to think through how it could actually be turned. I think I see a couple challenges to actually making this design:

1. My first thought was this seems similar to a pulley, and the standard way I see for turning pulleys is to drill/bore out the center bore, then mount the part on a mandrel and turn the OD features. But seems a tapered or other mandrel wouldn't provide good support for a piece this long, especially considering the center bore is only about half of the part length.​
I think mounting this in a chuck without tail support would probably work, though it would require 2 setups (drill/bore the shaft bore and OD in one setup, then flip and bore out the cavity). Securing it for the second setup could be a little tricky, but maybe this is still the best way?​