[Newbie] Any One Using Design Cad 3d By Imsi ?

joebiplane

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I am a pure hobbyist at machining but I do know a project always needs a plan ! A plan for a new part is generally a drawing. I like 3 d drawings so I can envision all sides.

I have tried Alibre and Solid Works trial programs and got nowhere fast. I read a review that was unbiased and it stated that TOO many features of a cad program are not always a good thing. especially for beginners of cad.

The reviewer specifically mentioned design cad 3D as a good starting program. I have tried IMSI turbo cad for years and always found the versions and upgrades buggy with quirks that were annoying. Granted it is a relatively cheap program and " you get what you pay for' but
my Question is; are any of you using Design Cad 3D ? how do you like it ?" my alternative is another year subscription to Solid works Educational version for about the same cost as design cad 3D $100.00 +/-
My projects are quite simple and I don't want to be overpowered by un-needed features that simply confuse me and get in the way. I just want to draw a 3d version of the widget I am working on or inventing to use as my guide / Plan during the machining process.

all comments are appreciated

thanks
joe

Have you looked at Auto Desk (AutoCad)? They currently have Fusion 360 free for hobbyist and small business.

Freecad is a pretty good product that is free and does 3d work.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk

strange, I found solidworks to be about the easiest to use for me, I have bobcad and don't care much for the cad part of it, the cam is decent, but its about all I know, haven't tried any other cam software

I use design cad 3d but only for 2d plans. I have played with the 3d some but have found for the most part all I really use are 2d drawings when I make a part, If I need a 3d rendering I go over to Google Sketch Up as it seems easier for me to use -- Jack

Hi,