Another version of a ball turner

ekrteam

Registered
Registered
I'll warn ya first - this is my first project on my new used Smithy 1239 machine so I am getting familiar with it. I just got it put together and turned the brass knob for the handle that is in the picture. I used a HSS fly cutter mounted into my rotator base. A little unorthodox but it seemed to work well. I should be able to turn a 3" ball or up to a 4" diameter sweep with the tool. It should also be able to cut concave arcs into the work as well. I plan to put some graduations to help with set up and repeatability but it is pretty easy to use. Again, give me a little slack, I am a novice machinist.

DSCN2693[1].jpg

DSCN2693[1].jpg

Last edited:
Now thats really nice work for a novice:biggrin: Theres a lot of us novice machinist on here so you'll fit right in.

Paul

Welcome to the forum. You've hit the ground running. I love the fly cutter - acts more like a tangential toolholder. I made mine to go up to 1 1/2" with a straight (horizontal) bit. Added a second slide for concave. You've got it all in one. Nice work.

I have some new ideas for this for also using the platform for taper cuts. Basically it involves a locking knob and a cross slide tool that will mount in the slot. I don't have a lot of room to work so profile may be an issue. I gotta think about this one a little more. Thanks for the feedback.

Hawkeye,

My first intention was to use carbide inserts for the cutting tool, then I was looking at my brazed carbide tools. What made me use the fly cutter was I liked the ease of building the holder and the small tool to not crowd the work area. I haven't tried it on steel and I am a little concerned about how it supports the tool with the cutting pressure down on it. We'll see!

Monte