Another Atlas 6" Mk.2 Survey Reply Checking In...

56type

Registered
Registered
1. Serial # and location... serial 002866 located on the end of the bed.
2. Model# and Company... Model # 10100 Atlas.
3. Original & current color... Blue (doesn't appear to have been repainted).
4. Headstock & Leg material...Cast iron.
5. Spindle bearing type... Timken roller bearing.
6. Compound slide style... Flat.
7. Headstock casting # and Date... Headstock casting 383-020 Q1 & Date 11/2/77.
8. Type compound feed screw thrust bearing plate... 2 screw oval.
9. Rack version... 5 screw & 2 pin.
10. Apron style... ( don't know what an apron is yet, Sorry).
11. Date, place & cost... Date purchased 08/18/'16 in Richmond, KY from an online estate sale for $360

Machine condition appears to be good with little use. It just seems to have sat for quite some time and all the lube had turned to sticky crud. Some adjustments were needed to get things up & running and I'm still learning what needs to be done...

Thanks.

The lathe carriage (not including all of the removable parts mounted to it) consists of two parts, the saddle and the apron. The saddle is the top part that sits and slides on the ways (bed). The apron is the front or vertical part that hangs down and to which most of the carriage and cross slide controls are mounted.

On all Atlas/Craftsman 6", 9", early 10" and early 12", and most other badge small lathes, the saddle and apron are cast (or machined) as one part. On the late Atlas 10" and both versions of the later Atlas/Craftsman 12", and most other badge larger lathes, the saddle and apron are two separate parts (usually cast).