Another Atlas 12x36 Acquisition

Smudgemo

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I joined this forum because I picked up an Atlas 12x36 last weekend and hope to pick up on what others are doing with this lathe. I've got a little machine shop experience at a local industrial art school making fixtures to build bicycle frames, and I'm very excited to get acquainted with this machine. Seems like it's close to being a "cream puff", but I'm no expert. I want to replace the desk it's mounted on with something more solid, but seems otherwise ready to work.

It came with 3 and 4 jaw chucks, face plate, and a little tooling. More tooling would have been great, but it doesn't seem to need much attention.

Thoughts? Suggestions?

Best,
Ryan

Craftsman.jpg Craftsman2.jpg Craftsman3.jpg

good lookin machine. i have an earliefr version with manual speed changes. it has done a lot of little projects for me and im certain it will continue to do a bunch more. it looks like the wood its mounted on is the same as the one i have that mounted on its orig. legs. i also made a larger more sturdy bench for mine. . . double 3/4" plywood top, with masonite added to make it easy to clean. . . i really love mine. . .i have taper attachment, milling attachment and some sort of collet arrangement that i have never tried to use.

Ryan,