All The (antique) Gear, No Idea!

OneLooseCrank

Registered
Registered
Hello all! A project is beginning...
I've never done any lathing before but I've a long project I'm working on to build my own full suspension bicycle frame. I'm intending to mill up a 35x40mm axle and some collets for it and it's one of many things that I will be learning throughout the project. I've got some literature coming my way to learn from but in the meantime, I'm hoping you can give me some advice on how to ensure my machine is up to scratch.

What I have is an antique R Livingstone lathe that at some point has been updated with an electric motor. The locking bolts on the saddle show me that the ways are smooth and level. It has no live centre other than a chuck so I'll need a new one. The drive centre seems to have a tiny tiny knock if I lift it. Is this an issue and how should I investigate it? It's not been used in a long time and although it's a very tidy bit of kit, what should I do to make sure it's running right?
Any advice on how to TLC an old machine would be hugely appreciated.
Cheers

livingstone (2).jpg livingstone (3).jpg livingstone (6).jpg

The drive centre seems to have a tiny tiny knock if I lift it.

Sounds like an investigation into the spindle is in order. Remove the chuck, it's heavy, and won't help looking for your knock. Remove the drive belt (most right hand belt), just slip it off the upper pulley and let it hang.Start by rotating the spindle, the round thing the chuck was attache to, trying to find any lost motion, a point where one part turns and another does not. If no knock turns up in this test, try sliding it left and right, there should be VERY minimal movement. If nothing shows up, repeat the same tests on all the other turning shafts, one at a time. Without knowing if your lathe has babbit or ball/roller bearings, I can't predict where you will find what needs repaired.