About to order a PM-1022v.. Anyone want to talk me down? LOL

BellyUpFish

Active User
Registered
I'm a total novice. I've never turned anything on a real lathe..

Was all set on a G0602 until someone suggested I take a look at the PM-1022v..

For the $$ over the G0602 if seems well worth it.

Anyone?

I think you'll be very happy with it. No talk down here. :)

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk

If you're anything like me, you won't really know what you want until you actually use it for a while. If you spend $1,300 for a lathe (just a number I pulled out of my hat) and realize next year you want more features or size (or to get rid of the hobby altogether), will you beat yourself up over selling it for $800 or so? That's just expecting a sale of 60-70% from new (I personally wouldn't pay more for something used that is still available new.) If not, buy either one and don't stress over it. I didn't look at either one, but cross-feed is sure nice to have if either doesn't.

Grizzly has been wonderful for customer service for an issue I had with my mill, and a month ago Quality Machine was helpful and promised me delivery of my new mill by mid-Feb (it's in transit), so I've had good experiences so far from both places.

-Ryan

Once you get the basics down, what do you want to do with your lathe? I think if you can answer this, it will give you a better idea of what lathe to get.

Are you looking at that size lathe because you have size constraints (small workspace)? Or is just your sweet spot for what you want to spend?

Both companies have top notch service reputations, and I have bought stuff from both. I recently purchased one of PM's bench mills and can happily report a pleasant experience.

I and everyone else here have their on personal preferences and priorities when purchasing tools. I really think you need to figure out what you're going to do with this lathe so people can be of better assistance.

Bill