7x10 Lathe For Turning Down Ends Of 3/4threaded Rod?

Cavediver

Registered
Registered
Hello all,
Absolute newbie here in the metal world. I just bought a used 7x10HF lathe and currently have it stripped down for cleaning and whatnot.

I'm planning my first project: a powered drill press table lift for a 1950's-ish Craftsman drill press.

I'll be using a 3/4"-6 x 24" acme threaded rod to move the table up and down, powered by a stepper motor and control board.

My question: is it reasonable to turn the ends of this rod down for (bearings and drive couplers) using the 7x10 lathe? I have purchased the LMS 4-Jaw chuck (plenty of clearance for the rod to pass through it and the headstock), and am planning 2-3 outboard supports (steady rests?) for the rod to the left of the headstock.. Supports will likely be plywood construction, HDPE bushings, and will be anchored to the bench with through-bolts.

I would like to turn each end of the rod down to 3/8" or 1/2". The bottom end of the rod will sit on a thrust bearing (requiring a nice, square shoulder) and be connected to the stepper motor with either sprockets and chain or some shop-made delrin gears. The top end will also be turned down to 1/2" to fit in a bushing.

Thank you,
Jay

End note: There will be a lot of baby steps between here and there. I have a ton of research to do, lots of practice cuts to take, etc. It will be about a month while I'm cleaning up the drill press (recent CL purchase) and getting the piece drawn up, plans finalized, etc.

Sounds like what you are planning will work fine. A well planned setup.:encourage:

I shouldn't think that you would have any problems doing this. It sounds like you have thought it out pretty well. I'd love to see your plans and be sure to include a few pictures before, during, and after. Just be sure take it slow at first and get it situated with that length sticking out of the left side.

CHuck the grumpy old guy