4 Jaw Chuck And Steel Plate

abrace

Registered
Registered
All,

I need to bore some holes in a steel plate. I don't have a mill. I only have a G4003G. I can fit the plate in my 4 jaw chuck, but with only TWO jaws grabbing the plate (it is a rectangle) and be able to bore the holes where I need to. It seems to spin up fine and is in there pretty solid. Am I risking my safety doing this or is this a standard thing to do? I am new to using a lathe.

---Aaron

If the setup is solid you should be OK. Don't get in a hurry and watch what is going on, be ready to hit STOP. Just keep your nose back away from the spinny things.;)

Will it fit between the jaws diagonally?
I do that quite often to get a large chunk faced.

Will it fit between the jaws diagonally?
I do that quite often to get a large chunk faced.
Honestly, I am not sure. I have enough problems figuring out what I want to do with the lathe without diagonal lines getting involved :)

The problem is that I need to bore a hole near the top, and to do that I need the top at the center of the chuck, obviously, which makes the bottom hang down below where the jaws even come close to grabbing it.

It has a great hold from the side. Great until I start boring that is and putting pressure on it, but I won't know until I try. I won't have a chance to do this until this weekend, but I did confirm the plate fits and seems to be held reasonably well from the 2 jaws on the side. I spun it up, and it seems OK, but I didn't put any tools to it at all.

I was figuring I would run on the lowest speed, 70RPM.

Yes, I did tell my wife I need a mill. She told me to figure out the lathe first then we would talk....at least she agreed to talk about it! :)