3 or 4 jaw chuck to start?

Greggski

Registered
Registered
Hello,

I am just starting out after a life long interest in metal machining and fabrication. I recently purchased an EMCO maximat Super 11 off CL for a pretty fair deal. It is in great shape, it just didn't come with alot of accssories. It is set up to turn between centers, but I want to get a 3 or 4 jaw chuck as well. Which one would you recommend to purchase first? It seems that the 4 jaw would offer everything a 3 jaw would, although it would take a little longer to set-up. I will be using this machine to learn basic skills, as well as make some parts for my auto mod/resto projects and little things around the house. Below is a pic as it sits now - it has the backsplash as well but I removed it to move and clean. Thanks for your help!

Lathe_zpsd3b66626.jpg

Lathe_zpsd3b66626.jpg

Very nice looking machine. Congrats on your acquisition.

Hard question to answer about 3 or 4 jaw... It's basically like the difference between learning to drive with an automatic or manual transmission car.

If you will be repairing existing parts, a 4 jaw would be preferred because they can be adjusted to perfectly center the part. That's important when modifying existing parts. If you're fabricating things from fresh stock, a 3 J will do fine. Often times, a 3 J will not perfectly center the part but, it's not a problem if you take a fresh piece of stock and start cutting it because, after the first cut, the exposed stock spins true with respect to the way it was seated in the jaws.

Also, a 4 J can hold square things. A 3 J can hold triangular shapes (provided the number of sides is a multiple of 3). You can't hold triangular things in a 4 J nor can you hold square things in a 3 J.

Ray

What ever you get, you'll probably wish you had gotten the other one. I think starting out with a 4 jaw is better, for the same reason I think starting out with a stick shift is better, learning experience.