220 Vs 110 motor choice

joebiplane

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
My 1945 logan 820 lathe has a Peerless motor which is likely the origional motor and it can be wired for 220 or 115 . it is presently wired for 220 and i could change the plug to match my 50 amp connection that I had installed for my elect welders or I could re-wire the motor for 115 volts and use a standard 20 amp available outlet which would be a bit more convenient . My question is which voltage would be preferable for powering the motor ? I am not concerned about the cost of electricity as i only use the machine for my seriously addictive hobby. and I cant imagine the cost to run the lathe could be significant.
Survey SAYS[size=24pt]......? :-\[/size]
Thanks.....

If it is under 1 hp it likely does not matter. My cabinet table saw has a dual voltage motor as well, but at 3 hp it is easier to run at 220 with the house wiring that I have. The lights do not dim when I start it up. 8)

I'm no electrician, but I think it is easier on the motor windings being run at 220V? Less amperage at least.
Maybe smoother running as well? (Thinking surface finish here...)

I'll leave it to the experts to shoot down my theory. ;D

Once a motor is running, there isn't a lot of difference. Startup will be better with 220. Cost is the same. That only comes in with 3 phase. Given a choice, I always wire things at 220.

Be careful. A 50 amp welder circuit should not be used with a lower current motor. You need to size the breaker to suit the lathe motor. You didn't say what hp it is, so I can't advise on that. If you run it on a 50 amp circuit, and have a problem, you won't have proper protection.

If this is truly hobby use, wire it for 120, give it it's own circuit (or make sure it is the only thing running at the time the lathe is in use), and make sure the breaker and wiring is correct for the motor draw.