1954 Round Ram J Head

Treetop

Registered
Registered
Long story short, I was basically given a round ram J head Bridgeport. I'm a retired machinist/tool and die maker, so I have thousands of hours on different J head, Series I and Series II Bridgeport mills but zero experience on a round ram.

The mill is located about 180 miles from me, so I'm going to have to transport it. My question is: How do you safely rotate the head? I see the usual 4 bolts that you loosen but I don't see a worm gear drive like the vee rams have to control the rotation. Am I just overlooking it or is there some other way of controlling the rotation on he round ram?

I would like to rotate the head 180 degrees for transport purposes. Thanks!

Edit to Add: There are evidently several different styles of round rams re: how they attach to the head. My ram has a flange on the end and the head mounts on the ram directly via 4 bolts. Looking at Google images, I see that one variation has a "knuckle" type of joint between the end of the ram and the head. I guess this is a primitive type of "nod" feature. Mine is NOT like that. Thanks again for reading.

If rotating turns out to be difficult, place a 4x4 on table and elevate table to secure, then lock knee.

Doesn't lower CoG but secures head and knee

I have a maybe 1955 round ram with a J head mount solid 4 bolts to ram. BUT mine has a square shaft on the top of the ram that when you loosen the bolts securing the ram it will turn the head rt. or left

I have a maybe 1955 round ram with a J head mount solid 4 bolts to ram. BUT mine has a square shaft on the top of the ram that when you loosen the bolts securing the ram it will turn the head rt. or left