10F Paint Question - to sand or not to sand

rfdes

Active User
Registered
I started painting my 10F this weekend with Valspar Tractor Paint (oil enamel, I believe). The first coat was
applied with a brush and after I finished, realized I was not happy with the shade of grey (much too light) so
I want the second coat to be a darker grey. I purchased a quart of the Vaspar paint in a darker grey but it will not
arrive until the initial coat has cured (couple of weeks).

Question:
Will I need to sand or perfom some other prep prior to applying the darker, second coat? Seems to me that I will need
to completely perform a light sanding prior. As you can tell, I'm no paint expert and don't want to mess this up. What
advice can anyone give to make sure that this is done correctly.

thanks
Jim

Jim,

No. Go to a paint store, big box store, Ace, etc. and buy a can of something with a name like or similar to "Liquid Sandpaper". It actually performs two functions. First, it will remove any dust and oils that may have gotten on the surface while you've been waiting. Second, it will dull the gloss on the surface so that the second coat will adhere better. And it won't have the disadvantage that actual sanding of castings does where high spots get thinned, sometimes into or through the primer, and low spots remain glossy.

Robert D.

Ok.. sounds like a plan, Robert. I'll give this a try. I appreciate the advice. Is there any one brand recommended
over another. A quick search showed that there appears to be a number of companies making this product.

thanks
Jim

Several of the used machinery dealers will use a 4" hard foam paint roller instead of a brush to paint the machine as it is less mess then spraying and better then a brush. If you have some brush impressions I would sand it too, before painting it. Start to paint the back of the machine to get the hang of it to perfect your technique before doing the front side. Not many will ever see the back :))