101.07301 - Newb Needs Help

Csd1984

Registered
Registered
Hi guys. This is my first post here. What inspired this post is a recent purchase of the 101.07301. I have attached pictures of the lathe and all of the parts that came with it. Here are my questions, and really my overall thoughts on this machine...

Firstly, I'm a complete newb at everything related to metal work and lathes. I bought this lathe from a coworker, hoping it was for wood turning, because I do wood working on the side. The thought of turning metal is a bit intimidating to me, but kind of exciting. Have any of you used this lathe for wood turning? I'd like to do both.

Next, can you look at my pictures and tell me if anything about my lathe seems weird, off or missing? How do I go about identifying all these parts? I have no idea what any of them do or what their names are! Does it appear I need new belts or are mine ok? If I do, where do I get them and how do I search for the right ones? Also, is it easy to switch the power cord to a newer one with a ground? I need to replace mine.20160210_170133.jpg 20160210_170206.jpg 20160210_182406.jpg 20160210_170356.jpg 20160210_170106.jpg 20160210_170327.jpg 20160210_170305.jpg

Lastly, any of your favorite websites (preferably geared toward newbs), information you wished you would have had starting out or anything else would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you and hello,
Chris 20160210_170236.jpg