10" D-E-F versions

Gene

Active User
Registered
Does anyone know the difference in the different versions? I have a TH42 and as a newbie I would like to know which I have? Under the tailstock a casting mark says 10D-6. Does that suggest anything/

For the casting numbers on the lathe parts, they were used over many years. In fact some of the 9" lathe parts were used on the 10" and 12". Cheaper to reuse the castings over many years.

I had a TV42. T = Timken bearings, V = Vertical countershaft, 42" bed.

H = Horizontal countershaft

Babbit lathes were known as V## or H##.

The following is not gospell, but tends to hold true as far as I have seen. Others may have better information.
The early lathes had 5/8" leadscrews and no Power crossfeed. Later the 3/4" leadscrew was the norm and power crossfeed available was well.

Today when one sees a D series, it does not have the power crossfeed and the leadscrew usually has been changed to 3/4" years ago as the 5/8" parts have not been available for many years.

The F series that I have seen locally all have had the power crossfeed. The power crossfeed was an option, looking at the old advertising as seen in Popular Mechanics/Science will clear that up a bit.

Sears Craftsman lathes have their own model numbers, even though they were supplied by Atlas. Atlas did not supply the Dunlop AA 6" lathes that Sears sold under the Craftsman label.

Likely this is a clear as mud and I may have confused things for you.
Pierre

Gene,